Cohabitation With Design

June 15, 2010

DIY Funky Stuffed Kitty

Filed under: Design & Art — Tags: , , , , , — Concept Interior Design @ 5:00 pm

As I have stated before, I am a huge fan of Amy Butler. I recently decided to take on a few more DIY project, one of which, is her “Cozy Kitty.” I have renamed my version the “Funky Stuffed Kitty.” I think it is important to add your own twist to your creations!

I started the kitty by downloading a free pattern from Amy Butler. I have to say, I am pretty bad about reading directions ( I think I am bad at directions in general…lol…not good at reading them or taking them) I did though, print out the pattern pieces, taped them together, and cut the pattern out. I proceeded to make a muslin version of this pattern. After cutting out all of the pieces, I chose my fabrics (cotton fabrics for the body and felt for the face) My process from this point on is as follows: pinned the muslin pattern to my fabric, cut the pattern out of my cotton body fabric (two of these to sew together to form the completed body of the kitty), cut the face, eyes, and mouth out of felt. Next, I pinned and sewed the face to one of the body sides. (It is easiest to do this step now before you sew the two body fabrics together.) After the face was attached, I used a sewing machine and stitched together the two body pieces, leaving a small opening in order to flip the kitty right side out and stuff. I used Bamboo Fiber to fill my kitty.

I still have yet to hand sew the small opening closed, but wanted to go ahead and share these pictures with you. Enjoy and have fun making your own Funky Stuffed Kitties!!

Up next, a patchwork throw! Stay tuned….

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

